We’re off to see the Wizard!

20130715-224825.jpg

Now that the baby is six months old and I’m not (quite) as crazy with sleep deprivation, I’ve been trying to make a more conscious effort to have ‘girl time’. Just with my Aves. I felt sooooo guilty in the beginning about not spending as much time with her. I thought that the poor, abandoned child would surely resent me for the rest of her life and inevitably date a drug addict as a teenager to get back at me. Such is life. So now, Daniel gets some
Man time with ‘ol dad and I get to be with my girl.
A few weeks ago we went to see the play “The Wizard of Oz” in Toronto. It was playing at the Canon Theatre, one of my favs! I had been a bit worried about taking Ava so young, and had been cautioned about scary parts-but it was fantastic! She was fantastic! It was one of the BEST days I’ve had with her on record (probably second to introducing her to Cinderella at disneyworld). We took the Go train in, met grandma at union, hopped on the ‘underground train’ aka subway, had lunch and then went to the show. Ava loved feeling like a big girl and was fascinated by the show!! We talked about what scary parts there was going to be and how everyone was just in makeup and acting. She thought it was pretty funny to wonder if the witch had a green bum too! Haha!
One of the coolest things about taking her to the play was that Ava had previously met Danielle Wade, who plays Dorothy, during a live taping of CBC’s show “Over the Rainbow”. Ava was sitting there in a start struck daze! Ava completely loved every minute and to this day talks about it and how she wants to act and sing and dance! Who knows what the future may hold, but it was a nice thought to think that perhaps I have helped inspire something great and that she won’t grow up to date a drug addict out of resentful rage. One can only hope!

About erinmariestark

Hi! My name is Erin. I am a teacher, mother, wife, sister, aunt, cousing and friend. I married into the 'Weir' family. I have two adorably perfect children, a husband Sean (we'll leave the adjectives for now...) and 19 brothers and sisters-in-law. Life is busy, great and frustrating. But it's mine and mine to share!

Leave a comment

A Mom of Steel

My superpower is overcoming obstacles with optimism

altrunomics

altruism meets economics

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

Go Jules Go

Author. Blogger. Chipmunk enthusiast.

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Meet your creative goals

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

couldreads

I read these books and you could too?

the contextual life

thoughts without borders

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.